Oregon dispensaries were selling weed to minors
Long story short: Oregon dispensaries were selling weed to minors because they never ID’ed customers.
Oregon at the state level mentioned that they will be running a much tighter operation after learning that legal retailers in the state were conducting illegal sales. It came to the state’s attention that many dispensaries weren’t checking IDs.
The new governance will be temporary for the time being until they can ensure dispensaries are in fact complying with the law. One major way they plan to deal with these offenses is through forcing larger fines for businesses and employees who break the law.
The new fines are as follows: if you are caught for the first time, you will endure a 30 day suspension or a $5,000 fine.
If you break the law for the second time in 2 years, you will lose your license for a month. If you break the law for the third time, your license will be taken from you indefinitely.
The Oregon Liquor Control Commission operates under the mission of preventing cannabis sales to minors. The current offenses in the state are illegal and will not be tolerated.
The state found out about these dispensaries breaking the laws through an undercover investigation. Budtenders were not checking IDs and therefore could not keep minors from purchasing their products.
The findings from the investigation vary, with the most offenses happening in Portland where more than half the dispensaries didn’t check IDs.
Some parts of the state had much better results, with some cities having close to 100% compliance. Central Oregon was one of those cities with extremely high compliance.
The new rules went into effect last week and will be enforced for at least 6 months. During this time, the OLCC will be on the lookout for any offenders.
In other news, here’s an article that explains where in the USA weed is legal.